Renuka’s Miraculous Memories

One of the splendid essentials of ‘a big fat Indian wedding’ is a photographer and the candid shots he captures. While there are about 1600 clicks of my sister’s wedding, this one makes a firm place for itself into the list of my favourites.

The pretty Bride, the marital glow and yes the very endearing hug in which she nestles her grand-mom is the stuff that good pictures are made of.

Weddings are intimidating. Packing the wedding trousseau for a sister is one of the toughest tasks ever and to cap it off I had to hide the bitter-sweet anguish of biding adieu as she left for a very distant land across the seas.

This picture triggers the finest memories of all the nuptial tayyari, the shopping, the invitations and all the wild dancing! Seems like just yesterday when my sister and I would host make-believe doll-house weddings in the backyard of our house and now she is married for real!On a mundane day, this picture transports me Imageto a miraculous place.

Leave a comment